The Book of Gateways (Installment 14)

Hey guys! Please leave comments and tell me what you think and how you feel about the story and installment! Thanks so much! 🙂

We sit back down at the booth again. I see Lannah’s worried expression and Desimae’s unfazed look.

“Sorry about that guys, I wasn’t feeling good. I just needed some air for a second.” I see Lannah’s shoulders ease a little and her expression fades into her good natured smile. Desimae is still unfazed. A waitress comes by and Piers flags her down.

“Sorry, we’re ready to order now.” Piers smiles.

“What can I get you?” She asks holding her pen at the ready. Piers nods to Desimae to order first. She doesn’t hesitate.

“Uh, ya let me get two pancakes, a side of bacon, fruit, and a biscuit up in this mug. Oh ya and some orange juice please.” She adds politely. Lannah goes next.

“Can I have some cinnamon oatmeal, turkey bacon, and side of fruit as well with some cranberry juice.” These people have some weird food preferences I think to myself. My stomach grumbles loudly. I clamp my arms over it to muffle the obnoxious noise.

“Can I get two pancakes with strawberry topping and whipped cream, and then a side of sausage, and then just a glass of water please.” I submit my order. Piers is up next and I can tell it’s going to be a large order.

“Yes, I’ll have the everything omelet, hold the mushroom, an order of bacon, hashbrown, and sausage links please. Oh and I’ll have an order of the pancakes and a glass of orange juice.” He folds the menu and hands it to our server. I just shake my head. He acts like he even needed the menu. We all pass the menus forward as the waitress takes them and hurries off to get our orders.

“Whoa there trash compacter.” Desimae toss her straw wrapper at Piers.

“Ha-ha, you are so funny.” He tosses his own wrapper back at her. Then they start to play a game of I-Don’t-Know-What where one person cups their hands with an opening so the other person can flick the balled up wrapper into the opening. They seem supremely entertained. I look up to see Lannah staring at me. We lock eyes.

“So you guys just came to visit?” She says, a hint of suspicion in her voice. Piers and Desimae are in their own world. This question is for me.

“Ya, you know we figured we should try and visit all of Milo’s locations and meet the people he loved so much.” I say lying through my teeth. It’s true to a degree, we wanted to we just never had enough money to make it happen. I snap my attention back to Lannah as I realize my gaze has wandered to the salt and paper shakers.

“We wanted to do it sooner, but it’s expensive to travel nowadays, you know?” I say trying to smile naturally.

“Yes, everyone is having problems nowadays. The shop makes it through though, I just don’t know what will happen to the shops now that… Well now that he’s not around.” Lannah says fiddling with her napkin.

“Ya, I’m not sure who is taking over the shops now.” I say glumly.

“Oh, I am.” Piers says as he flicks the little white wrapper into Desimae’s hands.

“Excuse me?” I say in disbelief. “When did you find this out?” I try to sound calm.

“I found out this morning. An agency in charge of my uncle’s will contacted me today. They said they had troubles reading uncle’s handwriting.” He says making the goal with his hands as Desimae flicks the paper. It goes in.

“Huzzah my good people! Not only did I get the point but Milo’s book stores will also not be absorbed by the government or the horrid public!” Desimae smiles widely. So bizarre. Then I realize this must be a normal thing because Lannah and Piers are unfazed by her odd announcement. I can’t help but smile. The server brings our food and we all say a prayer before digging into our food. I silently thank God to myself that even after all these weird experiences that I have Milo’s shops and the people he loved. It makes me feel closer to him when I know the people he knew.

One thought on “The Book of Gateways (Installment 14)

  1. So I must say my dear that I am in love with this and you are doing a fantastic job with maintaining the same plot and structure all the way through. 🙂

Leave a Reply

